Twitter Expert Connect Assignment Reflection

In our 21st century world right now, social media has become a huge part of the life of all humanity, as about 2 billion people uses social media in their daily life. As social media came into our life, it has created changes to the entire world. People started to use social media not only for their recreational use and a way of contacting other people around the world, but also to influence and change the world. It has also became a great means to gather resources and learn new things from actual people and reliable sources.

In our digital citizenship class, we learned and used twitter as the way to investigate about the “topic” we wanted to learn about. We got to do some background research, and searched for the expertise of that specific area on twitter, in order for us to ask them for opinions and questions. Related image

My topic for this twitter expert connect assignment was high school teacher. I got to investigate and ask current high school teachers about their opinions and thoughts on the job they had. I followed about 16 people, who were all current or formal teachers and made a list called “teachers” so it could be easier to find them not one by one, but at once. The people who I followed were ,  . They were all current or formal high school teachers, who were expertise of different areas.

I mainly focused about their opinions about as their life as a teacher, such as pros and cons, what one should know and learn if wants to be a teacher, the mindset a teacher should have and how did that person decide to become a teacher. I was really curious about people’s motivation to choose certain job, so I asked a lot of people “what event or who made you want to become a teacher. Do you have any regrets?” I asked all my questions in the most polite manners I can ever perform, and was pretty successful in doing so. Their responses helped me to think about my future more seriously, and was a very valuable time to know and talk to the professors around the world. These information were helpful for my Genius Hour project, since they were all primary sources where I can definitely rely on, and was a chance to look at what kind of things I can do, to change the world.Image result for social media

My results weren’t the most satisfying, but I could say it was pretty decent. I had about 6 responses back, and they were all on-point responses, that I wanted to know about. After the questions and answering, I tried to keep up the relationship if possible, but none of them followed me back and most of them after replying to the questions, not offer any further assistance. Some of them did not give me any information, but just gave me a link to “Dream of becoming a teacher?”. I still had contact with about three of them until last month but these days, I was too busy that I couldn’t keep up the conversation anymore. It felt especially harder when their responses came after hours, sometimes days, and this made it difficult to actually have a proper conversation or at least for a while.

This project was the first one to actually show me that social media could act positively in our lives, since I always thought social media was nothing but spending times with my friends and mostly wasting time. I think through twitter, it would be much easier for me and for the world, to get reliable information from reliable sources, much faster and easily. I think it would help me reach even further information, whenever I need. I got to know that social media could be more helpful then some any internet websites, if I could use this usefully, it would become a great source of information.

 

citations

Twitter Logo: Borup, Josh. “Twitter, Social Media, Icon, Social, Internet, Media.” Pixabay, Pixabay, June 2017, cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2017/06/22/14/23/twitter-2430933_960_720.png.

Social Media picture: Altmann, Gerd. “Social Media, Icon, Continents, Globe, Country, World.” Pixabay, Pixabay, Apr. 2017, cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2017/04/07/09/45/social-media-2210580_960_720.png.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *